CS225A: Experimental Robotics, Spring 2020-21

Class: Tue, Thu 2:30-3:50pm.

Please see the schedule below, join the piazza group, and monitor announcements.


The goal of this class is to introduce you to the intricate art of programming articulated robots. The course will review the basics of control theory in the first half of the quarter, and will require groups of three to four students to implement a motor task on one of our available robotic manipulators. Most projects involve some aspect of robot control, computer vision, and potentially some mechanical engineeering, so teams should ideally posess programming as well as some mechanical expertise.

The choice of project is yours! We expect great things...


Staff

Generic placeholder image

Oussama Khatib

Instructor

Webpage
Office hours: Tue, Thu 4-5pm
Generic placeholder image

Adrian Piedra

Course Assistant

Office hours: Mon 3-5pm
Generic placeholder image

William Chong

Course Assistant

Office hours: Wed 3-5pm


Timeline

Date Lecture Handouts Homework / Deadlines
Tue, Mar 30 Introduction and Course Review
Thu, Apr 1 Simulation and Graphics Lecture 2
Fri, Apr 2 Section: Software Setup (1-4pm PDT) Homework 0 out.
Tue, Apr 6 Kinematics and Dynamics I Lecture 3
Thu, Apr 8 Kinematics and Dynamics II + Project Discussion Lecture 4
Fri, Apr 9 Homework 1 out.
Mon, Apr 12 Homework 0 due.
Tue, Apr 13 Operational Space Formulation Lecture 5
Thu, Apr 15 Operational Space Control + Project Discussion Lecture 6
Fri, Apr 16 Homework 2 out.
Mon, Apr 19 Homework 1 due.
Tue, Apr 20 Compliant Motion Control Lecture 7
Thu, Apr 22 Task Redundancy Control I + Project Proposal Presentations Lecture 8 Project proposal presentation due.
Fri, Apr 23 Homework 3 out.
Mon, Apr 26 Homework 2 due.
Tue, Apr 27 Task Redundancy Control II + Project Overview
Thu, Apr 29 Project Discussion
Mon, May 3 Homework 3 due.
Tue, May 4 Project Discussion
Thu, May 6 Project Discussion
Tue, May 11 Project Outline Presentations Project outline presentation due.
Thu, May 13 Project Outline Presentations
Tue, May 18 Individual Group Meetings
Thu, May 20 Individual Group Meetings
Tue, May 25 Individual Group Meetings
Thu, May 27 Individual Group Meetings
Tue, June 1 Project Demonstrations
Thu, June 3 (Optional) Class Discussion
Fri, June 4 Final report due Friday, June 4 at 11:59pm.



Grading

Component Contribution to Grade
Homework 40%
Final Project Progression, Updates, and Demonstration 50%
Final Project Report 10%
Total 100%
Extra Credit: Contribute a self-sufficient robotics/programming module



    Designed by Samir Menon.
    © Stanford University.
    Last updated on Apr 9, 2021