Feigenbaum Prize

(page under construction)

The Feigenbaum Medal (1991-199x)

The first recipient of the Feigenbaum Medal of the World Congress on Expert Systems.  http://news.stanford.edu/pr/91/911209Arc1026.html

presented at the World Congress on Expert Systems, Orlando, FL, December 1991.

from http://www.aaai.org/ojs/index.php/aimagazine/article/view/1297/1198
Worldwide Perspectives and Trends in
Expert Systems
An Analysis Based on the Three World Congresses on Expert Systems
Jay Liebowitz

“…an important part of the world congress is the awarding of the Feigenbaum Medal to an individual who has contributed worldwide to expert system research and technology transfer. The recipients have been Professor Edward Feigenbaum (who also serves as the congress’s honorary chair), Peter Friedland (formerly with NASA Ames in charge of Al research and applications for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration), and Donald Michie of the University of Edinburgh and the Turing Institute.”

  • Edward Feigenbaum 1991
  • Peter Friedland 1994
  • Donald Michie 1996
  • Lotfi Zadeh 1998

(2011 to present)

established in 2011 and awarded every 20 years. Past winners, from http://www.aaai.org/Awards/feigenbaum.php


  • Eric Horvitz (Microsoft Research)
    For sustained and high-impact contributions to the field of artificial intelligence through the development of computational models of perception, reflection and action, and their application in time-critical decision making, and intelligent information, traffic and healthcare systems.


  • IBM Watson Team*
    For demonstrating that a synthesis of AI techniques, including symbolic knowledge representation, natural language understanding, and statistical machine learning, can achieve human-level performance in real-time factual question-answering.
    *Team Members: Sugato Bagchi Michael Barborak, Branimir Boguraev, Eric Brown, David Carmel, Jennifer Chu-Carroll, Jaroslaw Cwiklik, Edward Epstein, James Fan, David Ferrucci, Tong-Haing Fin, David Gondek, Bhavani Iyer, Aditya Kalyanpur, Hiroshi Kanayama, Adam Lally, Jonathan Lenchner, Anthony Levas, Burn Lewis, Michael McCord, Erik Mueller, J. William Murdock, Yue Pan, Siddharth Patwardhan, John Prager, Marshall Schor, Dafna Sheinwald, David Shepler, Kohichi Takeda, Gerald Tesauro, Chang Wang, Chris Welty, Wlodek Zadrozny, Lei Zhang


  • Sebastian Thrun (Stanford University) and William A. “Red” Whittaker (Carnegie Mellon University)
    For their influential contributions to artificial intelligence via achievements in autonomous vehicle research, including experimental efforts and research leadership of teams addressing challenges with the fielding of robotic systems in the open world.