CS225A: Experimental Robotics, Spring 2018-19

Class: Tue, Thu 3:00-4:20pm. Gates B12.

Lab lectures/demonstrations will be at Gates 119 (See schedule; join the piazza group and monitor announcements).


The goal of this class is to introduce you to the intricate art of programming articulated robots. The course will review the basics of control theory in the first half of the quarter, and will require groups of three to four students to implement a motor task on one of our available robotic manipulators. Most projects involve some aspect of robot control, computer vision, and potentially some mechanical engineeering, so teams should ideally posess programming as well as some mechanical expertise.

The choice of project is yours! We expect great things...


Staff

Generic placeholder image

Oussama Khatib

Instructor

Webpage
Generic placeholder image

Mikael Jorda

Course Assistant

Office hours: Mon, Wed 2:00-3:00pm
Location: Gates B30
Generic placeholder image

Adrian Piedra

Course Assistant

Office hours: Tue 1:00-3:00pm
Location: Gates B21


Timeline

Date Lecture Handouts Homework / Deadlines
Tue, Apr 2 Introduction and Course Review
Thu, Apr 4 Simulation and Graphics
Fri, Apr 5 Section: Setting up Control Environment
1:30-3:30pm in Gates 104
Tue, Apr 9 Kinematics
Thu, Apr 11 Dynamics and Control
Tue, Apr 16 Operational Space Framework
Thu, Apr 18 Specifying Multiple Control Tasks
Tue, Apr 23 Operational Space Control Project groups and outline due.
Thu, Apr 25 Project Discussion
Tue, Apr 30 Lab Lecture: Introduction to Robots
Thu, May 2 Lab Lecture: Introduction to Robots
Mon-Thurs, May 6-9 Office Hours: Individual Group Meetings
Tue, May 7 Lab Lecture: Experiments with Robots
Thu, May 9 Lab Lecture: Experiments with Robots
Mon-Wed, May 13-15 Office Hours: Individual Group Meetings
Tue, May 14 Project Updates First project update presentation.
Thu, May 16 Project Updates
Tue, May 21 In-class Individual Group Meetings
Thu, May 23 In-class Individual Group Meetings
Tue, May 28 In-class Individual Group Meetings
Thu, May 30 In-class Individual Group Meetings
Tue, June 4 Final Project Updates Second (final) project update presentation.
Thu, June 6 Project Demonstrations (start at 2:30pm)



Grading




    Designed by Samir Menon.
    © Stanford University.
    Last updated on March 27, 2020