Computer Science 50th Anniversary

9:00am - 9:15am

Opening remarks 

  • Alex Aiken
    Alcatel-Lucent Professor, Department Chair, Computer Science

9:15am - 10:30am

Computer Science Department Faculty, Future Challenges in CS

Current Stanford Computer Science faculty will present a speed talk on the future of their field, telling us what major accomplishments we can expect during the next 10 years. They will also forecast what challenging unsolved problems will remain in 10 years.

11:00am - 11:30am

Computer Science & Education

11:30am - 12:00noon

Keynote Speaker

12:00noon - 12:05pm


  • Congressman Ted Lieu (CA-33)

1:30pm - 2:30pm

Startup Panel

Looking back and looking forward. A conversation about the impact of the Stanford Computer Science Department on Silicon Valley and the world.

  • Kara Swisher (Moderator) 
    Co-Executive Editor of Re/code and CEO of Revere Digital
  • Jerry Yang
    Founding Partner, AME Cloud Ventures
  • Ramji Srinivasan
    Founder & CEO of Counsyl
  • Clara Shih
    Founder & CEO of Hearsay Social, Author of /The Facebook Era/, Board Member, Starbucks Corporation
  • Sam Altman
    President of Y Combinator

2:30pm - 3:30pm

Computer Science Distinguished Alumni, Since We`ve Been Gone

This session will include short presentations and discussion among alumni with distinguished careers. From their personal point of view, speakers will talk about their time at Stanford and their subsequent careers, emphasizing the events, ideas, and developments that were important to them. We will hear about their research interests and how they evolved, as well as their accomplishments. They will discuss their personal visions about the future of their chosen fields and the future of computer science.

4:00pm - 5:00pm

Faculty Panel: Challenges in Computer Science

Panelists will discuss various aspects of the growth of the Computer Science Department at Stanford University. Each panelist was responsible for establishing major activities in the department and three of them have served as chair. We will hear about some of the anecdotes and nuances involved in building a great department.

  • Hector Garcia-Molina (Moderator) 
    Leonard Bosack and Sandra Lerner Professor in the Department of the Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Former Chair of the Computer Science Department
  • Andrew Ng
    Associate Professor of Computer Science; Chief Scientist of Baidu and Chairman & Co-Founder of Coursera
  • Jennifer Widom
    Fletcher Jones Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering; Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs, School of Engineering; Former Chair of the Computer Science Department
  • Bill Dally
    Professor (Research) of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Former Chair of the Computer Science Department Chief Scientist and Senior Vice President of Research, NVIDIA
  • Pat Hanrahan
    CANON Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering

5:00pm - 5:30pm

Closing Address

  • John Hennessy
    President of Stanford University, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science