CS327A: Advanced Robotic Manipulation

This course focuses on advanced control methodologies and novel design techniques for complex human-like robotic systems. It provides an extensive coverage of the task- oriented operational space formulation, and discusses its application to the challenges of interactive whole-body control of humanoid robots. The presentation of the material starts with the basic models and control structure of a simple robot arm and culminates with the most recent developments on the control of humanoid robots. The framework addresses various challenging problems, which include: (i) the motion coordination of the large number of degrees of humanoid robots; (ii) the effective control of their contacts and interactions with the environment; (iii) the maintenance of their internal and external constraints; (iv) and the strategies for dealing with their underactuation and balance. The above issues are all treated in a unified fashion within a general control structure that addresses the whole body dynamics for specifications involving multiple distributed tasks and postures in consistency with the requirements of multiple distributed contacts and constraints. Other fundamental issues in human centered robotics will be also examined in this course. These include: (i) the synthesis of human movements to produce human- like robot behaviors; (ii) the critical issue of robot safety and the design requirements for human-friendly robots that conceived to operate in human environments (iii) the elastic planning methodology for real-time modifications of existing motion plans; (iv) and various other efficient algorithms that address the computational challenges associated with human-like robotic structures. In addition to the lectures, this course includes reviews of papers on wide range of topics relevant to advanced robotics. These reviews, which are done by groups of students, will be presented at a mini- symposium held at the end of the quarter.


Mon, Wed 3.00-4.20pm.
Gates B12.

Course Reader

Available at the Bookstore next week.

Office Hours

See below at Staff section.


Please sign up on Piazza.


Homework: 30%
Paper Review: 20%
Final (take-home): 50%


Generic placeholder image

Oussama Khatib


Office hours : Wed 4.30-5.30
Gates 144
Generic placeholder image

Gerald Brantner

Course Assistant

Office hours : Mon, Thu 1-2p
Gates 120 Fishbowl


Date Lecture Handouts Homework
Mon, Mar 28 Course introduction
Wed, Mar 30 Kinematics, Dynamics [Kinematics.pdf] [hw1.pdf] Due April 13
Mon, Apr 4 Operational space formulation [Operational_space.pdf]
Wed, Apr 6 Unified Motion/ Force control
Mon, Apr 11 Human Motion Analysis (Guest Lecture Samir Menon)
Wed, Apr 13 Teleoperation (Guest Lecture Jee Hwan Ryu) [Teleoperation.pdf]
Mon, Apr 18 Redundancy
Wed, Apr 20 Inertial Properties [Inertial_properties.pdf] [hw2.pdf] Due April 28
Mon, Apr 25 Cooperative Robots [Cooperation.pdf]
Wed, Apr 27 Haptic Rendering [hw3.pdf] Due May 5
Mon, May 2 Mobile Manipulation
Wed, May 4 Humanoid Robots [Humanoids.pdf]
Mon, May 9 Elastic Planning
Wed, May 11 Human-Friendly Design
Mon, May 16 Robot Skill Acquisition (Guest Lecture Ellen Klingbeil)
Wed, May 18 Perception (Guest Lecture)
Mon, May 23 Interaction in the Lab
Wed, May 25 Robot Control Architectures
Mon, May 30 Holiday (Memorial Day)
Wed, June 1 Review and Advanced Topics
Fri, June 3 Mini-Symposium (in class) Location: TBD
Fri, June 3 - Mon, June 6 Take-home finals (Time/Location: TBD)