CS225A : Experimental Robotics, Fall 2014

Class : Tue, Thu 3.15-4.30pm. Gates B12.

Section : Fri 10.00-11.30am. Gates 119 (Robotics Lab).

Lunch & discussion will be at Gates 119 (See schedule).


The goal of this class is to introduce you to the intricate art of programming articulated robots. The course will review the basics of control theory in the first half of the quarter, and will require groups of three to four students to implement a motor task on one of our available robotic manipulators. Most projects involve some aspect of robot control, computer vision, and potentially some mechanical engineeering, so teams should ideally posess programming as well as some mechanical expertise.

The choice of project is yours! We expect great things...


Staff

Oussama Khatib

Instructor
Webpage

Samir Menon

Instructor
Webpage

Xiyang Yeh

Course Assistant
Office hours : To be decided

Gerald Brantner

Course Assistant
Office hours : To be decided

Chen Bai

Course Assistant
Office hours : Tue/Thu 4:30-5.15p

Brian Soe

Course Assistant
Office hours : Tue/Thu 4:30-5.15p



Timeline

Date Lecture Handouts Homework (all due @ 11:59pm)
Tue, Sep 23 Introduction & Course Review Lec1.pdf
Thu, Sep 25 Kinematics Lec2.pdf Hw 0 : Tute0 & Tute1 (due Oct 2)
Fri, Sep 26 Section: Set up Linux & Control Environment Sec-SCL.pdf CAs: BS, XY
Tue, Sep 30 Dynamics Models for Control Lec3.pdf
Thu, Oct 2 Lunch & Discussion: Control I - Joint space Lec4.pdf Hw 1 : Tute2 & Tute3 (due Oct 9)
Fri, Oct 3 Section: Dynamics, Simulation, Graphics Sec-sim.pdf CAs: BS, CB
Tue, Oct 7 Lunch & Discussion: Control II - Operational Space Lec5.pdf Project groups & outline due
Thu, Oct 9 Lunch & Discussion: Control III - Engineering stable controllers Lec6.pdf Hw 2 : Tute4 & Tute5 (due Oct 16)
Fri, Oct 10 Section: Troubleshooting control specifications Sec-control.pdf CAs: CB, GB
Tue, Oct 14 Control IV : Multi-task Control & Project Announcement Lec7.pdf
Thu, Oct 16 Haptic Teleoperation Lec8.pdf Hw3 : Puma/Haptics (due Oct 23)
Fri, Oct 17 Section: Controlling real robots Sec-robots.pdf CAs: GB (haptics), XY (puma)
Tue, Oct 21 Trajectory Generation Lec9.pdf Discuss project options with TAs
Thu, Oct 23 Lunch & Discussion: Student project discussion Detailed project plan due
Fri, Oct 24 Section: Project Critique & Discussion CAs: BS, CB, GB, XY
Thu, Nov 6 Project milestone I Short report due
Nov 24-28 Thanksgiving break
Mon, Dec 1 Project milestone II Short report due
Tue/Thu, Dec 9/11 Project demonstrations
Thu, Dec 11 Web project report Full report due
Legend Green : Current class. Gray : Section. Yellow : Final project.



Grading

Component Contribution to Grade
Homeworks 0, 1, 2 10% each x 3
Homework 3 (Robot hardware programming) 15%
Final Project Demonstration 40%
Final Project Web Report 15%
Total 100%
Extra Credit : Contribute a self-sufficient robotics/programming module To be decided
Details on extra credit will be shared in class.



    Designed by Samir Menon.
    © Stanford University.
    Last updated on Mar 8th, 2014