CS225A : Experimental Robotics, Spring 2014-15

Class : Tue, Thu 3.15-4.30pm. Gates B12.

Section : Fri 10.00-11.30am. Gates 119 (Robotics Lab).

Lab lectures/demonstrations will be at Gates 119 (See schedule; join the piazza group and monitor announcements).


The goal of this class is to introduce you to the intricate art of programming articulated robots. The course will review the basics of control theory in the first half of the quarter, and will require groups of three to four students to implement a motor task on one of our available robotic manipulators. Most projects involve some aspect of robot control, computer vision, and potentially some mechanical engineeering, so teams should ideally posess programming as well as some mechanical expertise.

The choice of project is yours! We expect great things...


Staff

Oussama Khatib

Instructor
Webpage

Samir Menon

Guest Lecturer
Webpage

Wancy Liu

Course Assistant
Office hours : Mon: 3:30-5:00p

Keegan Go

Course Assistant
Office hours : Fri: 1:00-2:30p

Inrak Choi

Course Assistant
Office hours : Wed: 3:30-5:00p



Timeline

Date Lecture Handouts Homework (all due @ 11:59pm)
Tue, Mar 31 Introduction & Course Review
Thu, Apr 2 Simulation and Graphics Lec-2.pdf Homework 0, Due Apr 12. Solutions
Fri, Apr 3 Section: Set up Linux & Control Environment (see the Wiki) CAs: All
Tue, Apr 7 Kinematics
Thu, Apr 9 Dynamics & Control (see Kinematics notes) Homework 1. Due Apr 19.
Fri, Apr 10 Section: Dynamics & Hw session1.zip CAs: Keegan Go, Wanxi Liu
Tue, Apr 14 Operational Space Control
Thu, Apr 16 Lab Lecture: Experiments with Robots Homework 2. Due Apr 26.
Fri, Apr 17 Section: Troubleshooting control & Finalizing Groups Sec-control.pdf CAs: Inrak Choi, Wanxi Liu
Tue, Apr 21 Fine tuning and customizing controller specifications Lec7.pdf Project groups & outline due
Thu, Apr 23 Trajectory Generation Homework 3. Due May 3
Fri, Apr 24 Section: Controlling real robots Sec-robots.pdf CAs:
Tue, Apr 28 Operational Space Control II Discuss project options with TAs
Thu, Apr 30 Class Discussion & Finalizing Projects Detailed project plan due
Fri, May 1 Section: Project Critique & Discussion CAs:
Thu, May 14 Project Review & Milestone I Short report due
Fri, May 15 Section: Project Discussion CAs:
Fri, May 22 Section: Project Discussion CAs:
Fri, May 29 Project Review & Milestone II Short report due
Thu, June 4 Project demonstrations
Tue, June 9 Web project report Full report due
Legend Green : Current class. Gray : Section. Yellow : Final project.



Grading

Component Contribution to Grade
Homework 40%
Final Project Demonstration 50%
Final Project Web Report 10%
Total 100%
Extra Credit : Contribute a self-sufficient robotics/programming module



    Designed by Samir Menon.
    © Stanford University.
    Last updated on Mar 30, 2015